Winning Students


Scholarship athletes announced at inaugural Winning Students Forum

20 October 2016
Tennis star Scott Duncan and double Olympic medallist Duncan Scott will be returning as Winning Students scholars in 2016-2017

Tennis star Scott Duncan and double Olympic medallist Duncan Scott will be returning as Winning Students scholars in 2016-2017

Scotland’s national sports scholarship programme, Winning Students, announced this month which scholars would be part of the programme for 2016-17 academic year. The scholarships provide gifted young athletes studying in colleges and universities across Scotland with funding support and the flexibility to achieve their sporting and academic goals.

The Forum brought together Winning Students’ academic and sporting partners, with representatives from universities and colleges in the Winning Students Network alongside those from the governing bodies of Winning Students core sports.

The Forum was opened by Professor David Lavallee, Chair of the Winning Students Advisory Board, and included a talk from Mike Whittingham, Director of High Performance at sportscotland Institute of Sport and a video case study with Paralympic gold medallist and Winning Students scholar, Karen Darke.

The forum closed with a series of mini-meetings, which allowed the delegates to network and learn more about the support that their scholars receive from their sports and institutions, as well as having the opportunity to discuss individual cases.

Professor David Lavallee was delighted with the maiden Forum:

“Given this was the first event of this kind for Winning Students, I think we have to be really pleased with how it has gone.

“Having our sporting and academic partners meeting face to face provided a great networking opportunity,” he continued. “They were able to get an insight into how the scholarships work at their different organisations, whilst also discussing specific student athletes.

“The Forum will have better equipped our partners to support student athletes and that can only be a positive thing for the programme. Winning Students has allowed vast numbers of talented young people to combine sport and education where they otherwise would not have been able to, and will strive to continue this.

“The scholarships have impacted on the academic and sporting careers of these individuals and have also helped Scotland progress on the international stage, with 24 current and former scholars competing at the Rio Olympic and Paralympic Games this year”


Background Information

Each of the institutions in the Winning Students network has a co-ordinator who acts as a point of contact for their Winning Students athletes and the colleges and universities are committed to providing academic flexibility to their scholars.

Winning Students scholarships are funded by the Scottish Funding Council and managed by the University of Stirling. Athletes are put forward for support by their respective National Governing Body of Sport in 12 core sports: Badminton; Canoeing; Curling; Football (Women only); Golf; Hockey; Judo; Orienteering; Rowing; Swimming; Tennis and Triathlon. Additional scholarships are awarded for students in other individual sports through Individual Scholarships.


Abertay University

Aidan McQuade, Katie Robertson (both Hockey) 

University of Dundee

Ben Cosgrove, Sarah Jamieson, Charlotte Watson (all Hockey), Cameron Harris (Triathlon) 

University of Edinburgh

Eilidh Gibson (Canoeing), Kirsty Howat, Cailin Michie (both Football), Gordon Amour, Jock Breckenridge, Daniel Coultas, David Forrester, Claire Hill, Sarah Robertson, Laura Swanson, Jamie Wong (all Hockey), Sarah Adlington (Judo), Alexander Carcas, Alexander Chepelin, Matthew Fellbaum, Sarah Jones, Alistair Masson, Tim Morgan, Jennifer Ricketts, Daniel Stansfield, Fay Walsh (all Orienteering), Maddie Arlett, Josh Armstrong, Matthew Curtis, Gavin Horsburgh, Calum Irvine, Alex Rankin, Rufus Scholefield, India Somerside, James Temple (all Rowing), Kathryn Greenslade, Lucy Hope, Kieran McGuckin, Corrie Scott, Calum Tait (all Swimming), Grace Reid (Diving), Hannah Dines (Cycling), Hope Greenwood (Archery) 

Edinburgh College

Naomi Brown (Curling), Erin Clachers, Sarah Clelland, Chelsea Cornet, Murron Cunningham, Abbi Grant, Alyshia Walker (all Football), David Ferguson (Judo), Kieran Preston (Swimming), Allan Smith (Athletics) 

Edinburgh Napier University

Greg Drummond, Bruce Mouat (both Curling), Lizzie Arnott, Jenna Fife, Siobhan Hunter, Rachel McLauchlan (all Football), Hope Gordon (Swimming), Elspeth Young (Squash) 

Forth Valley College

Sophie Ogilvie (Canoeing) 

Glasgow School of Art

Matthew Carder (Badminton) 

University of Glasgow

Morna Campbell (Canoeing), Millie Brown, Jenny Eadie (both Hockey), Camilla Hattersley (Swimming), Laura Muir (Athletics) 

Heriot-Watt University

Rachel Syme (Canoeing), Rowena Kerr (Curling), Samantha Kerr, Stephanie Knox, Kirsty Smith, Clare Williamson (all Football), Emma McGregor (Hockey), Patrick Dawson, Alex Short, Jack Smith (all Judo), Jonathan Crickmore, William Rigg (both Orienteering), Euan Inglis (Swimming), Bruce Strachan (Tennis), Seonaid McIntosh (Shooting)

University of the Highlands and Islands

Ruairidh Greenwood - Moray College UHI (Curling), Abi Harrison - Perth College UHI (Football) 

New College Lanarkshire

Reece McFadden (Boxing) 

The Open University in Scotland

Martin Campbell, Adam Hall, Patrick MacHugh, Julie MacPherson, Ben Torrance (all Badminton), Madelaine Jennings (Canoeing), Chris Bennett (Athletics), Karen Darke (Cycling) 

Queen Margaret University

Emily Newlands (Hockey), Abbi Blackie (Judo) 

Robert Gordon University

Rachel-Louise Masson, Kirsty Simpson (both Swimming) 

Scotland's Rural College

Cameron Smith (Curling), Joanne Free, Graeme Greer (both Golf) 

University of St Andrews

George Burns (Golf) 

University of Stirling

Rachel Hannen, Bobby Lammie, Kyle Waddell (all Curling), Gemma Batty, Chloe Goadby, Christopher Maclean, Tara MacTaggart, Jennifer Saxton, Sinéad Sexton, Laird Shepherd, Jordan Sundborg (all Golf), Rachel Tytler (Judo), Craig Benson, Cameron Brodie, Kathleen Dawson, Danielle Joyce, Ross Murdoch, Duncan Scott (all Swimming), Scott Duncan, Robert Leck, Maia Lumsden (all Tennis), George Goodwin, Cameron Main, Julie Nimmo, Douglas Roberts, Fergus Roberts (all Triathlon), Megan Dawson-Farrell (Cycling)

University of Strathclyde

Alex Dunn, Caitlin Pringle (both Badminton), Andrew Houston, Rachel Houston, Louise Revell (all Canoeing), Gregor Cannon, Rachael Halliday, Alasdair Schreiber (all Curling), Fiona Bruce (Hockey), Andrew Brown (Windsurfing)

University of the West of Scotland

Rebekka Findlay, Kirsty Gilmour (both Badminton), Sophie Jackson (Curling), Erin Cuthbert (Football), Lee Morton (Hockey), Jack McComish, Craig McNally (both Swimming), Callum Hawkins (Athletics), Amy Regan (Gymnastics)


The following institutions are members of the network but don’t have a Winning Students athlete in 2015-2016: University of Aberdeen, Ayrshire College, City of Glasgow College, Dumfries and Galloway College, Dundee and Angus College, Fife College, Glasgow Caledonian University, Glasgow Clyde College, University of the Highlands and Islands, Inverness College UHI, Lews Castle College UHI, North East Scotland College, North Highland College UHI, Orkney College UHI, Sabhal Mòr Ostaig UHI, Shetland College UHI, West College Scotland, West Highland College, West Lothian College.