Winning Students


Winning Students strike gold at Euros

24 August 2018
University of Edinburgh swimmer, Kathryn Greenslade (c)British Swimming.

University of Edinburgh swimmer, Kathryn Greenslade (c)British Swimming.

There was plenty of cheer for Winning Students athletes at the inaugural European Championships as our scholars came away with eight medals, including four golds.

Ten current scholars competed at the event, hosted across Glasgow and Berlin, which brought together the existing European Championships of Athletics, Aquatics, Cycling, Gymnastics, Rowing and Triathlon as well as introduce a new Golf Team Championships.

In the swimming event, Commonwealth Games champions, Duncan Scott (University of Stirling), carried on his winning ways with a hat-trick of titles in the 200m freestyle, 200m freestyle relay and the 100m medley relay as well as silver in the 100m freestyle. Kathryn Greenslade (University of Edinburgh) also added to the gold rush as she won the 200m freestyle relay with her British teammates as well as winning bronze in the 200m mixed freestyle relay alongside fellow Winning Students scholar, Craig McLean (University of Stirling).

Out of the water, Laura Muir’s (University of Glasgow) career continued its rapid ascent as she claimed gold in the 1500m at the Olympiastadion in Berlin, adding to her indoor titles from earlier in the year.

As well as the existing scholars’ success, there were also a number of medals for former athletes including gold and silver for Grace Reid in the diving pool and silver for Eilish McColgan in the 5000m silver whilst there were also track medals for Zoey Clark and Eilidh Doyle and bronzes in the swimming pool for Hannah Miley and Stephen Milne.

Current scholars who represented Team GB at the European Championships:


Lucy Hope (University of Edinburgh)

Kathryn Greenslade (University of Edinburgh)

David Cumberlidge (Heriot-Watt University)

Kathleen Dawson (University of Stirling)

Craig McLean (University of Stirling)

Duncan Scott (University of Stirling)

Craig McNally (University of the West of Scotland)


Allan Smith (Edinburgh Napier University)

Laura Muir (University of Glasgow)

Chris Bennett (Open University in Scotland)